April 14, 2019

After an amazing Sunday Awards Brunch on Sunday (special thanks to Iron Horse Grill – our amazing venue!), Crossroads Film Society is pleased to announce the winning films for the 2019 Crossroads Film Festival: 

  • Award for Best Feature Narrative – Driven (USA), Dir. Glenn Payne; Prod. Casey Dillard & Glenn Payne

  • Award for Best Short Narrative – Are You Volleyball?! (Islamic Republic of Iran), Dir. Mohammad Bakhshi; Prod. Nima Rabiei

  • Award for Best Feature Documentary – Attaché (USA), Dir. & Prod. Melissa Pace Overholt

  • Award for Best Short Documentary – The Traffic Separating Device (Sweden), Dir. & Prod. Johan Palmgren

  • Award for Best Experimental Film – Dear K (USA), Dir. Finley King; Prod. Finley King & Rutgers Digital Filmmaking Center

  • Award for Best Animated Film – Run Rostam Run (Islamic Republic of Iran), Dir. & Prod. Hossein Molayemi

  • Award for Best Student Film – Asia A (USA), Dir. Andrew Reid; Prod. Jake Katofsky & Eric Baird

  • Adam Ford Youth Filmmaking Award – We Are Now (USA), Prod. Gandhi Brigade Youth Media

  • Award for Best Music Video – “Royal,” by Lost in Translation (USA), Dir. & Prod. Michael Williams

  • Award for Most Transformative Film – Thank You for Supporting the Arts (USA), Dir. Carolann Stoney & W. Alexander Jones; Prod. Jessica Daugherty, Danielle Higgins & Cintamani Calise

  • Programmers' Choice Award – White Guys Solve Sexism (USA), Dir. & Prod. Christopher Guerrero

  • The Ruma Award for Most Promising Mississippi Filmmaker – Hanna Lane Miller, for The Hidden Vote, and Roots and Wings

  • Audience Choice Award – 83 Days (USA), Dir. Andrew Paul Howell; Prod. Ray Lënard Brown, Andrew Paul Howell, Summer Michele Howell, Lucius Baston, & Ryan Dennett-Smith

  • Audience Choice Award (Music Video) – “Get Up,” by Seth Power (USA), Dir. David Matthews; Prod. Zach Prichard

"Lagniappe Awards" (Honorable Mention) -

The programming team is pleased to offer these special “Lagniappe Awards” to films we particularly enjoyed. The Lagniappe Award is an Honorable Mention for filmmaking achievement, for content, and/or for sheer fun! The only criteria are that a programmer must nominate the film, and it must not have won in another category. Lagniappe Award winning films receive a certificate of merit and special Crossroads laurels. Winners of the 2019 Lagniappe Awards are:

  • The Fox (Islamic Republic of Iran), Dir. Sadegh Javadi Nikjeh; Prod. Sadegh Javadi Nikjeh and Documentary & Experimental Film Center

  • “Hello Heart,” by John Kilzer (USA), Dir. Laura Jean Hocking; Prod. Ward Archer

  • Negro Terror (USA), Dir. & Prod. John Rash

  • The Replacement (USA), Dir. Sean Miller; Prod. Sean Miller & Naz Khan

Congratulations to all these films and their filmmakers! For tickets to Festival and year-round Society events, visit www.crossroadsfilmfestival.com.

Started in 2000, the annual Crossroads Film Festival celebrates the art of filmmaking with film screenings and competitions from a wide variety of genres including features, shorts, documentaries, animation and music videos.  Crossroads Film Society brings filmmakers and film buffs together throughout the Festival and the year with screenings, workshops and music events.