Crossroads Film Festival announces winning films of 2016

April 6, 2016

After an amazing Sunday Awards Brunch on Sunday (special thanks to Cathead Distillery – our amazing venue!), Crossroads Film Society is pleased to announce the winning films for the 2016 Crossroads Film Festival:

  • Award for Best Feature Narrative (sponsored by I.A.T.S.E. Local 478) – Driving While Black (USA), Dir. Paul Sapiano, Prod. Patrick DiCesare
  • Award for Best Short Narrative – I Am Sami (Kyrgystan), Dir. & Prod. Kae Bahar
  • Award for Best Feature Documentary – Delta Justice: The Islenos Trappers War (USA), Dir. & Prod. David DuBos
  • Award for Best Short Documentary – Synesthesia (Canada), Dir. & Prod. Aisling Chin-Yee
  • Award for Best Experimental Film – Vocabulary of the Mysteries (USA), Dir. J. Shanks Kindlon & Prod. Astin Sullivan
  • Award for Best Animated Film – We Can't Live Without Cosmos (Russian Federation), Dir. Konstantin Bronzit, Prod. Alexander Boyarksy
  • Award for Best Student Film – Sebastian and Them (UK), Dir. Benjamin Bee, Prod. Benjamin Bee & Yiannis Manolopoulos
  • Adam Ford Youth Filmmaking Award – The Girl, Whose Shadow Reflects the Moon (Jordan), Dir. Walaa Al Alawi & Prod. Laura Doggett
  • Award for Best Music Video – “Preacher Man” (by Melody Gardot) (USA), Dir. Callum MacDiarmid & Prod. Amile Wilson
  • Award for Most Transformative Film – The Ballad of Little Pam (USA), Dir. Casey Parks & Aubree Bernier-Clarke, Prod. Casey Parks
  • Programmers' Choice Award – Sumo Road: The Musical (Japan), Dir. Ken Ochiai, Prod. Yuki Hara, Shuhei Okabayashi & Yutaka Tamura
  • The Ruma Award for Most Promising Mississippi Filmmaker – Barry (USA), Dir. & Prod. Matthew Graves
  • Audience Choice Award – Delta Flavor (USA), Dir. Alison Fast, Prod. Blue Magnolia Films & Corner to Corner Productions
  • Audience Choice Award (Music Video) – “Release Me” by Adalia Tara (USA), Dir. & Prod. Jeremy J. Hawkes

New in 2016!  “Lagniappe Awards” –

The programming team is pleased to offer these special “Lagniappe Awards” to films we particularly enjoyed. The “Lagniappe Award” is an “honorable mention” for filmmaking achievement, for content, and/or for sheer fun!  The only criteria are that a programmer must nominate the film, and it must not have won in another category.  “Lagniappe Award” winning films receive a certificate of merit and special Crossroads laurels. Winners of the 2016 “Lagniappe Awards” are:

  • Another Kind of Girl (Jordan), Dir. Khaldiya Jibawi, Prod. Laura Doggett
  • Atomic, MS: 50 Years Later (USA), Dir. Dr. Brad Schultz & Kathleen Wickham, Prod. Bailey Braseth
  • Fire Water Earth Air and Time (Feuer Wasser Erde Luft und Zeit) (Germany), Dir. & Prod. Maria Reinhardt-Szyba
  • A King’s Betrayal (USA), Dir. David A Bornstein, Prod. Andres Avalos, Lily Nguyen & Ahmed El-Mawas
  • The Long Road (Jordan), Dir. Rafif Al Fadel, Prod. Laura Doggett
  • Margaret (USA), Dir. & Prod. Manan Singh Katohora
  • Mining Poems or Odes (UK), Dir. Callum Rice
  • The Present (Germany), Dir. Jacob Frey, Prod. Anna Matacz & Jacob Frey
  • Rattle the Hocks (USA), Dir. & Prod. Cody Dickinson

Congratulations to all these films and their filmmakers! For tickets to Festival and year-round Society events, visit

Started in 2000, the annual Crossroads Film Festival celebrates the art of filmmaking with film screenings and competitions from a wide variety of genres including features, shorts, documentaries, animation and music videos.  Crossroads Film Society brings filmmakers and film buffs together throughout the Festival and the year with screenings, workshops and music events.