April 15, 2018

After an amazing Sunday Awards Brunch on Sunday (special thanks to Iron Horse Grill – our amazing venue!), Crossroads Film Society is pleased to announce the winning films for the 2018 Crossroads Film Festival: 

  • Award for Best Feature Narrative (sponsored by I.A.T.S.E. Local 478)Chasing the Blues (USA), Dir. Scott Smith; Prod. Jacqueline E. Ingram, John Fromstein, DeAnna Cooper
  • Award for Best Short Narrative – Recall (Hungary), Dir. Dániel Reich, Prod. Péter Fülöp
  • Award for Best Feature Documentary – Mississippi Madam: The Life of Nellie Jackson (USA), Dir. Timothy Givens, Mark K. Brockway
  • Award for Best Short Documentary – Holt Collier (USA), Dir. James Mathews; Prod. Heather D. Mathews, Hunter Gardner
  • Award for Best Experimental Film – Reconstructing Reality (Netherlands), Dir. Alice Wong
  • Award for Best Animated Film – Basket (Tokri) (India), Dir. Suresh Eriyat, Prod. Nilima Eriyat
  • Award for Best Student Film – Citizen (USA), Dir. Robert Bracker, Prod. Marissa Messina
  • Adam Ford Youth Filmmaking Award –  Minor Setback, Major Comeback: Supporting Black Dollars and Businesses in Jackson, Mississippi (USA), Dir. Kenytta Brown; Prod. Makallen Kelley, Asia Mangum, Kaitlyn Fowler
  • Award for Best Music Video – "Manna" by King Woman (USA), Dir. Vincent Jude Chaney
  • Award for Most Transformative Film – The Real Thing (USA), Dir. Brandon Kelley, Prod. Jon Gestal
  • Programmers' Choice Award – Retaliation (Vindicte) (Germany), Dir. Ange-Régis Hounkpatin, Prod. Topshot Films
  • The Ruma Award for Most Promising Mississippi Filmmaker – Mississippi Youth Media Project
  • Audience Choice Award – How They Got Over (USA) - Dir. Robert Clem, Prod. Robert Clem, Mike Tannen
  • Audience Choice Award (Music Video) – "Till I Cross Your Mind" by Young Valley, Dir. Drew McKercher

"Lagniappe Awards" (Honorable Mention) -

The programming team is pleased to offer these special “Lagniappe Awards” to films we particularly enjoyed. The Lagniappe Award is an Honorable Mention for filmmaking achievement, for content, and/or for sheer fun! The only criteria are that a programmer must nominate the film, and it must not have won in another category. Lagniappe Award winning films receive a certificate of merit and special Crossroads laurels. Winners of the 2018 Lagniappe Awards are:

  • Girl-Hearted (Germany), Dir. & Prod. Anne Scheschonk
  • Lindy Lou, Juror Number 2 (France), Dir. Florent Vassault, Prod. Jean-Baptiste LeGrand
  • Night Call (USA), Dir. Amanda Renee Knox; Prod. Phabillia Afflack-Borja, Miriam Anwari

Congratulations to all these films and their filmmakers! For tickets to Festival and year-round Society events, visit www.crossroadsfilmfestival.com.

Started in 2000, the annual Crossroads Film Festival celebrates the art of filmmaking with film screenings and competitions from a wide variety of genres including features, shorts, documentaries, animation and music videos.  Crossroads Film Society brings filmmakers and film buffs together throughout the Festival and the year with screenings, workshops and music events.