April 9, 2017

After an amazing Sunday Awards Brunch this morning (special thanks to Iron Horse Grill - our amazing venue!), Crossroads Film Society is pleased to announce the winning films for the 2017 Crossroads Film Festival.

  • Award for Best Feature Narrative (sponsored by I.A.T.S.E. Local 478) - You Are Everything (Germany), Dir. Lena Geller, Prod. Matthias Becker
  • Award for Best Short Narrative - The Swelling (Germany), Dir. Tom Bewilogua, Prod. Chris Krüger
  • Award for Best Feature Documentary - Forgotten Bayou (USA), Dir. Victoria Greene, Prod. Victoria Greene, John Darling Haynes & Paul E. LeDoux
  • Award for Best Short Documentary - Inside These Walls (Canada), Dir. Lorraine Price & Juliet Lammers, Prod. John Christou & Aisling Chin-Yee
  • Award for Best Experimental Film - Other People's Heads (USA), Dir. & Prod. Stephen Winterhalter
  • Award for Best Animated Film - Chika, the Dog in the Ghetto (Germany), Dir. Sandra Schießl, Prod. Björn Magsig, Marion Heinßen, Katrin Pilz, Marcus Horn & Annick Hillger
  • Award for Best Student Film - The Happiest Place on Earth (USA), Dir. & Prod. Ceylan Carhoglu & Ryan King
  • Adam Ford Youth Filmmaking Award - A Little Love Goes a Long Clay (USA), Dir. & Prod. Juliet Buckholdt
  • Award for Best Music Video - "Until We're All Free" by John Kilzer & Kirk Whalum (USA), Dir. Laura Jean Hocking, Prod. Wade Archer
  • Award for Most Transformative Film - The Parchman Ordeal: The Untold Story (USA), Dir. G. Mark LaFrancis, Prod. G. Mark LaFrancis, Darrell White, Robert Morgan
  • Programmers' Choice Award - Shy Guys (USA), Dir. & Prod. Fredric Lehne
  • The Ruma Award for Most Promising Mississippi Filmmaker goes to Joe York, for Shake 'Em On Down (USA), Dir. Joe York, Prod. Joe York & Scott Barretta
  • Audience Choice Award - Eyes on Mississippi (USA), Prod. Ellen Ann Fentress, Edited Lida Gibson
  • Audience Choice Award (Music Video) - "My City" by Adam AJC Collier, Dir. Philip Scarborough & Tom Beck

"Lagniappe Awards" (Honorable Mention) -

The programming team is pleased to offer these special "Lagniappe Awards" to films we particularly enjoyed. The "Lagniappe Award" is an "honorable mention" for filmmaking achievement, for content, and/or for sheer fun! The only criteria are that a programmer must nominate the film, and it must not have won in another category. "Lagniappe Award" winning films receive a certificate of merit and special Crossroads laurels. Winners of the 2017 "Lagniappe Awards" are:

  • Eyes on Mississippi (USA), Prod. Ellen Ann Fentress
  • The Five Wives and Lives of Melvyn Pfferberg (UK), Dir. & Prod. Damian Samuels
  • Hate Crime (USA), Dir. Steven Esteb, Prod. Alicia Allain
  • HB1523: Growing Up LGBT in Mississippi (USA), Dir. Eli Bettiga & Maggie Jefferis, Prod. Mississippi Youth Media Project
  • The Learning Alliance (Pakistan), Dir. Muhammad Umar Saeed, Prod. Muhammad Farrukh Saeed & Muhammad Umar Saeed
  • Moby (Switzerland), Dir. & Prod. Sebastian Henn
  • The News Today (USA), Dir. Lisa Donato, Prod. Emily Irion
  • Pink Velvet Valley (Belgium), Dir. & Prod. Sébastien Petretti
  • Pool (Piscina) (Brazil), Dir. Leandro Goddinho, Prod. Amina Jorge & Leandro Goddinho
  • Renewable (Renovable) (Spain), Dir. Jon Garaño & Jose Mari Goenaga, Prod. Xabier Berzosa & Javier Bonilla
  • Sharks (Spain), Dir. Gabriel Fernandez-Gil, Prod. Wicked Tongues
  • Valentin (Germany), Dir. & Prod. Ingrid Hübscher
  • The Wedding Patrol (Die Hochzeitspolizei) (Germany), Dir. Rogier Hardeman, Prod. Alexander Pfeuffer & Christian R. Timmann

Congratulations to all these films and their filmmakers! For tickets to Festival and year-round Society events, visit www.crossroadsfilmfestival.com.

Started in 2000, the annual Crossroads Film Festival celebrates the art of filmmaking with film screenings and competitions from a wide variety of genres including features, shorts, documentaries, animation and music videos.  Crossroads Film Society brings filmmakers and film buffs together throughout the Festival and the year with screenings, workshops and music events.